Blog: 20, Tarot: 4

Though I’ve made decent progress with my blog, I’ve made very little progress on my tarot art this winter, and that worries me a bit. If I only produced one complete card per month, this project would take 7 years from the first card to the last. That’s a daunting schedule to say the least.

I’ve made some good conceptual progress, but not enough to feel satisfied with my total progress. Mostly though, what I realize is that I’m just not satisfied with the quality of artwork I am capable of producing on my own, but I worry that bringing other artists in will reduce the symbolic density and cohesion of the work.

If I do work with other artists, it will have to be people I know personally and can work with smoothly, and I suppose it would have to be people who are okay with not being paid until the deck is ready to sell, which doesn’t seem fair to them, given how much control I’d be asking to have over their work. Obviously I have no problem sharing any resulting profits with them, if there are any to speak of, but there probably won’t BE all that much in the way of profits, unless I catch the interest of a publisher like Llewellyn, which, to be honest, is quite possible.

Theoretically, if I could get 4-5 other artists working with me, any given artist would only need to produce a couple dozen images at the most. The suits are 16 cards each, and there are 25 cards in the trumps. I would ask any given artist to do one whole suit, and maybe have the trumps divided between two artists with similar enough styles. I would do sketch-quality images of them all, and then hand the line and color work to better artists, if I could trust them not to run away with my project or change the card design without consulting me.

I feel very strongly that the deck needs to be made, I’m just not sure how realistic it is trying to work on it all by myself, nor how realistic it would be to try and recruit others to join me.

Thoughts? Suggestions? References?

–Ember–

About EmberVoices

Ember Cooke has been a member of Hrafnar and Seidhjallr for more than a decade, where she trained to be a Seidhkona, Galdrakona, and Gythia. She founded the Vanic Conspiracy and made ordination vows to the Vanir and her congregation in the summer of 2013. She has contributed to several publications on Heathen and Northern Pagan subjects and regularly presents rituals and workshops at festivals. Her personal practice is more diverse, as the Vanir have lead her into cross-training and service for the wider Pagan community. This has including medium and servitor training in American Umbanda, clergy training with the Fellowship of the Spiral Path, and jail ministry for local counties. She holds a BA with honors in Religious Studies from Santa Clara University. Ember has lived all her life in the south San Francisco Bay Area, and is intimately bound to the valley of her birth.
This entry was posted in Tarot and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

