DPM 2: Bump, Set, Spike

My lover Lon Sarver  and I have decided to go through Galina Krasskova’s Devotional Polytheist Meme questions together over the next several months.

We encourage our friends to follow along, and welcome links to other people’s answers in our comments, as well as your thoughts on our answers.

2. What does your tradition do to increase the power and flow of blessings?

As I mentioned in my response to the previous question, my local Pagan community is very sharing. Obviously this is a factor when we come together to do healing or blessing rituals on behalf of one of our members, or when someone puts out a prayer request and many people respond. But it’s also true in more practical ways.

It’s not that we’re all rich and extravagant. Hardly. But there is a strong tendency to give what we no longer need to someone else who can make good use of it rather than throwing things away. Thus we have a pretty solid network for finding things we need. Sure, we’ll look on Craigslist and Ebay if we’re looking for something specific, but we’ll check with friends first. And we’ll ping the community to see who might need what we have to offer before posting it for strangers.

This also gives the gods and spirits a handy system for directing what They want one of us to have our way. It’s fairly common that I’ll get nudged to give something I have or find to someone else, on behalf of a particular god, and almost as common that someone else will get nudged to give something to me. Sometimes it takes several steps for such things to get where they’re going, with a friend of mine getting nudged to give it to me so that I can pass it on to someone else I know, and so forth.

One of the ways I seem to be particularly helpful in this is that I have a knack for remembering what people’s talents or skills are that others may find useful later. For just about every skilled or professional service an individual might need (yes, even some of those kinds of services), I know someone who does it, and many of them are willing to negotiate really good rates for friends-of-a-friend. If I don’t know them myself, I can still usually find someone within one or two queries (although I might ask some pointed questions if you ask for something potentially dangerous). As you might expect, people find themselves increasingly in the habit of telling me what skills they’re offering lately, and asking me if I know anybody who does what they’re looking for.

Similarly, as a spirit worker and Pagan clergy, folks come to me when they need to connect with a god or spirit. Even if it’s not a god or spirit they know I work with, the odds that I’ll know how to contact them through my existing connections, or know somebody else who works with Them (or at least Their pantheon, if it’s particularly obscure) are better than average. As an Oracle (trance) and Diviner (tarot, mostly) people come to me to find out how to get their needs fulfilled in yet other ways.

So one way or another, the way the power and flow of blessings in my community is increased by everyone doing a little bit to pass it on.

Think of it like a volleyball team. She bumps the request to me. I set the task before a deity or worker, who spikes the resource needed straight over the net. Sure, there may be obstacles, and getting through the whole game may take several rounds with different requests, different people to send them to, different results adding up, but overall it’s a winning game once you get the hang of playing it.

–Ember–

Lon’s answer: Bless It Forward

About EmberVoices

Ember Cooke has been a member of Hrafnar and Seidhjallr for more than a decade, where she trained to be a Seidhkona, Galdrakona, and Gythia. She founded the Vanic Conspiracy and made ordination vows to the Vanir and her congregation in the summer of 2013. She has contributed to several publications on Heathen and Northern Pagan subjects and regularly presents rituals and workshops at festivals. Her personal practice is more diverse, as the Vanir have lead her into cross-training and service for the wider Pagan community. This has including medium and servitor training in American Umbanda, clergy training with the Fellowship of the Spiral Path, and jail ministry for local counties. She holds a BA with honors in Religious Studies from Santa Clara University. Ember has lived all her life in the south San Francisco Bay Area, and is intimately bound to the valley of her birth.
This entry was posted in Personal, Polytheistic Theology, Praxis, Seasonal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to DPM 2: Bump, Set, Spike

  1. FYI, the link for Lon’s answer isn’t working. Also, I clearly took this question a lot more literally than you; what a role reversal! https://thegoldthread.wordpress.com/2014/08/04/polytheist-meme-2/

    Like

Leave a Reply

