Gods Mean Something. You Can Too.

Y’know, I usually find myself avoiding praying about this stuff for the very reason that it feels like a mere token of effort?

Throw some money in if I have it. Call some senators. Sign some petitions. Those seem weak as it is, but at least I know they have a chance of helping in a practical way.

Lighting candles, though? Am I sure that’s not just to make me feel like I did something, while actually not doing a damned thing? Am I sure I’m not just finding a safe way to avoid getting involved while still telling myself I’m on the right side?

Usually when any of this comes up, it comes in the context of people pointing out that “pray for them” and group spells, and virtual vigils don’t actually help the people who are hurting, don’t actually change anything. At MOST they raise a little awareness, but so does passing along a Facebook meme. So usually the people who actually pay attention point out that the real help is in donating to charitable groups that are involved – donate money if you have it, donate time and direct effort if you have it. Practical efforts for physical problems.

For my own, much smaller practical problems, I don’t break out the candles until I’ve already done all the practical things I can do – already jumped through the bureaucratic hoops, already paid the pipers, already lined my ducks up and got them quacking together. Only after I’ve done all I can in the physical world is it time to light candles, raise energy, and pray for help.

Since I never feel like I’ve done enough, I guess I forget that prayers and spells are still on the list. But why shouldn’t they be? Especially if the Lwa or Orixa will be involved, as he points out.

-E-

Paganarch

They’re coming for you.  Burning barricades, broken glass, hurled cobbles, shattered chains.

There’s some Guédé who’ve got something to say about what you’ve done, and some Barons, too.   Some dragged-out masked punks seething with rage.  Angry immigrants sick of scraps, seething nymphs and feral satyrs gonna rip you to shreds.

Ripping off chains you put on ‘em, ’cause chains ain’t just iron.

Howling madness, the fear from the trees.  The dead amongst ‘em animating rage, because they remember what you hoped we’d forget.

You seen a revolt?

It looks like a carnival.

And Someone’s dancing amongst them.

Io Evohe.

–From Where They May Be Found: Dionysos

Police officers keep watch while demonstrators protest the death of black teenager Michael Brown in Ferguson

Sannion alerted me to the following post.

You’re educated enough and powerful enough to do some magic.  The only thing you really lack is awareness of the world around you, because if you were that spiritual enough to have the capacity for…

View original post 1,041 more words

About EmberVoices

Ember Cooke has been a member of Hrafnar and Seidhjallr for more than a decade, where she trained to be a Seidhkona, Galdrakona, and Gythia. She founded the Vanic Conspiracy and made ordination vows to the Vanir and her congregation in the summer of 2013. She has contributed to several publications on Heathen and Northern Pagan subjects and regularly presents rituals and workshops at festivals. Her personal practice is more diverse, as the Vanir have lead her into cross-training and service for the wider Pagan community. This has including medium and servitor training in American Umbanda, clergy training with the Fellowship of the Spiral Path, and jail ministry for local counties. She holds a BA with honors in Religious Studies from Santa Clara University. Ember has lived all her life in the south San Francisco Bay Area, and is intimately bound to the valley of her birth.
This entry was posted in Folkism and Racism, Politics and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gods Mean Something. You Can Too.

  1. He talks about following current events and trends. To me, that is always part of honoring Heimdall and keeping the watch. I have done that since my teens. I do act where I can, it is just not on my blog unless it deals with abuse or mass shooters.

    Like

    • EmberVoices says:

      Yes, that part I agreed with, as much as I need to pick my battles in that area to keep my own head above the water of depression and anxiety. I didn’t comment on it because… duh?

      Actually, I didn’t comment on it because this was originally just going to be a reply, not a reblog, until it got kind of long and I thought “oh, just reblog it!” -E-

      Like

Leave a Reply

