I Know What It’s Like [Audio Post]

I know what it’s like to be on both sides of a conflict.

I know what side I’m ultimately on, and it’s not always the side that recognizes me as their own. I want to help bridge the gap, to help the people who want to change with their changing, so that the people who need to fight can keep fighting.

None of this is to say that people don’t deserve the natural consequences when they fuck up. Maybe they do, maybe they don’t – every situation is a bit different, whether they fit a larger pattern or no.

But if my goal is to help fuck ups happen less often, and my talent is to help even the most dysfunctional people see why non-fucked-up behavior is in their own best interests, then maybe my role is to be something of a gentle apologist, off to the side, hopefully taking rocks out of the path of people who need to roll harder and faster than I can, in order to get the bigger stuff done.

–Ember–

(Sorry for the google drive link. Apparently I can only upload an MP3 if I have a premium account. I should look into that, I suppose.)

 

About EmberVoices

Ember Cooke has been a member of Hrafnar and Seidhjallr for more than a decade, where she trained to be a Seidhkona, Galdrakona, and Gythia. She founded the Vanic Conspiracy and made ordination vows to the Vanir and her congregation in the summer of 2013. She has contributed to several publications on Heathen and Northern Pagan subjects and regularly presents rituals and workshops at festivals. Her personal practice is more diverse, as the Vanir have lead her into cross-training and service for the wider Pagan community. This has including medium and servitor training in American Umbanda, clergy training with the Fellowship of the Spiral Path, and jail ministry for local counties. She holds a BA with honors in Religious Studies from Santa Clara University. Ember has lived all her life in the south San Francisco Bay Area, and is intimately bound to the valley of her birth.
This entry was posted in Abuse, Folkism and Racism, Ministry, Politics, Praxis and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

