#FirstOtherworldProblems Conspiracy

8th Strip! Woo! Welcome back Dee! And this one shows quite a few other friends from my history, while we’re at it. (To whom I apologize for drawing them really terribly…;p)

#FirstOtherworldProblems #FirstOtherWorldProblems Conspiracy

I blame Freyr, mostly…

So this comic is sort of a non-answer, for humor value. Everything in it is true, and I went ahead and named the specific people I depicted (like Cara, Tanisha, and Dee in order to give at least the more openly involved people some credit. There were quite a few more people involved who I couldn’t fit into the comic. Off the top of my head, I can count at least 8 more people I didn’t reference at all…

The “Conspiracy” in question, though, wasn’t actually for the founding of the group itself. By the time we got there, we’d already encountered quite a lot of Freyr and Freyja Conspiring.

Specifically, a young Freyrsman and I were getting shoved together a lot in the year leading up to the founding of the VC. It seemed pretty clear that Freyr and possibly Freyja wanted us to have a romantic relationship. This didn’t work for several reasons, not the least of which was that the young man in question was thoroughly gay. By the time things came to a head and I finally had to get Freyja’s help making Freyr stop pushing, we’d encountered several other people being apparently absentmindedly recruited into the process.

The most blatant, and ultimately humorous example was when Diana managed to get him to agree to represent Freyr and me to agree to represent Erche in a ritual for the rune class without telling us what the ritual entailed, or having us look at the script. When I finally reviewed the script and saw that our roles called for him to kiss me on the forehead, lips, breast, and belly, I freaked out a bit at the prospect of having to kiss someone I wasn’t dating, and called him. Then he freaked out a bit, and we ranted together for  a bit about Freyr’s ongoing shenanigans.

That evening, still fretting, I got to Greyhaven and checked in with Lorrie, who absentmindedly kissed me on the lips in greeting, which she’d never done before. I was so startled, and Freyja was RIGHT there, watching for my reaction, and I felt very set up.

Then, for the ritual, my friend the Freyrsman decided not to invite Freyr to possess him as he normally would, and opted to kiss me on the cheek instead of the lips in defiance of Freyr’s apparent attempt to set us up in front of the whole class.

When we talked after class to Diana and Lorrie about how our day had gone, Diana expressed having forgotten that the ritual called for those kisses, and Lorrie expressed that she wasn’t sure why she kissed me, but knew immediately that it was a strange and not entirely welcome gesture. I wasn’t upset with her, and we both forgave Diana, but all four of us spent the rest of the evening chuckling over the “Vanic Conspiracy” that was clearly taking place, and how “Clearly, they’ve started recruiting!”

That was February. That fall, when the new group for children of the Vanir was started, we chose to name it after our recent exasperating experiences with Them, as a way of acknowledging that They were and are directly involved in our lives.

–Ember–

About EmberVoices

Ember Cooke has been a member of Hrafnar and Seidhjallr for more than a decade, where she trained to be a Seidhkona, Galdrakona, and Gythia. She founded the Vanic Conspiracy and made ordination vows to the Vanir and her congregation in the summer of 2013. She has contributed to several publications on Heathen and Northern Pagan subjects and regularly presents rituals and workshops at festivals. Her personal practice is more diverse, as the Vanir have lead her into cross-training and service for the wider Pagan community. This has including medium and servitor training in American Umbanda, clergy training with the Fellowship of the Spiral Path, and jail ministry for local counties. She holds a BA with honors in Religious Studies from Santa Clara University. Ember has lived all her life in the south San Francisco Bay Area, and is intimately bound to the valley of her birth.
This entry was posted in #FirstOtherworldProblems, Crafts, Lighthearted, Personal, Praxis, Trance Work, Vanatru and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to #FirstOtherworldProblems Conspiracy

  1. Jenn says:

    Huh. So Freyr does sometimes push connections that make little sense to humans. (I’d never heard of him until he–what’s the word? manifested?–one day, and I’m still trying to learn more about him.)

    Like

    • EmberVoices says:

      Oh dear, I thought I replied to this back when I approved it through, I’m sorry! Yes, Freyr sometimes pushes. And He’s more often right than wrong, in my experience, but sometimes the kind of wrong He is requires us to push back.

      He’s not the only god. Really, I think all the gods are capable of pushing for the wrong thing sometimes, and that we always have an obligation to push back – as respectfully and honestly as possible, of course – when that happens.

      Like

  2. Honestly, I don’t remember the “Odin’s Aett” and “Frigga’s Aett” names as such (ironically), but I definitely do remember those groups. The Friggasbok made a big impression on me at the time, likely because I was in a kindred with Kay at the time. It inspired Hilary and I to come up with up with a 201 and 101 version (respectively) of it for Freya at that time. “Freyja’s Aett”–better late than never, eh? 😉

    Like

    • EmberVoices says:

      Eh. I don’t mind it for single-god groups, but I knew I wanted the VC to be a different kind of group than the Aett groups were. And yeah, Freyja’s Aett now is more like what Odin’s Aett and Frigga’s Aett and Hella Called were, as far as I can tell.

      Like

  3. Yeah, I wonder who’s *actually* conspiring here…. /whistles

    Like

    • EmberVoices says:

      Right?!? Do you remember sitting with me and Eric at my house? Sorry I couldn’t draw you very well… :p
      -E-

      Like

      • Yep 🙂 Good times. That was a time of some serious deity shenanigans, definitely. Or maybe that’s just when I started paying attention to shenanigans, or when the shenanigans really started to include me? Dunno.
        In any event, no worries. Though probably even more identifying that a Fehu would have been a gold leaf of some kind. (And it’s nice to have come across this on my birthday today–a neat birthday gift!)

        Like

        • EmberVoices says:

          True! I hadn’t thought of that… The runes were more for the other reader’s benefits. It’s not like *any* of you actually have rune t-shirts as far as I know…

          I had actually gone back through my old LJ from that time to confirm that my memory of events hadn’t shifted too far from what I recorded then, and no, it’s just what I remembered. *Shakes head* Our gods are soooooo suuuuuubtle. Especially that Freyr. Wooh.
          -E-

          Like

          • Yeah. Subtle-Freyr is my current name for him. Did I ever sing you the Subtle-Freyr song? “Suddenly Subtle-Freyr…is standing only head. Subtly tea bagging me…and swinging his dick around…”
            I had forgotten the whole Freyr trying to make our friend temporarily not-gay. That was pretty messed up, even for Freyr. Though it didn’t help that our friend carried that version of Freyr energy reeeally well.

            Like

          • EmberVoices says:

            Re Subtle Freyr: Yeaaaaah… Did I ever sing you the Antler Brigade version of “Faith”?

            Re Friend: Yeah, that was so many layers of bad and damaging. I’m glad I in fact did everything I could to *not* cooperate with Freyr’s… *ahem* mistake, because it went too strongly against my ethics and his consent. But the resulting pain and damage for both me and him was…. well…

            * One person has been permanently banished from the VC for sexual assault, because they didn’t respect the boundary when Freyr deliberately invited them to ignore it.
            * Our friend no longer works with Freyr at all as far as I know.
            * I literally cried at every event where I carried Freyja if Freyr was there, for something like two years.
            * Two people who used to be all but tied at the hip are now not even on speaking terms.

            So… yeah. Freyr can fuck up pretty spectacularly when He gets stuck on an idea and ignores human limitations and consent.

            And that’s as much as I’m willing to say about this in public. If you don’t already know what you need to know about this, please email me.

            -E-

            Liked by 1 person

          • Yeah, I’ve heard the Antler Brigade song 🙂 I’ll ping you about the other topics offline if I get a chance before the trip.

            Like

  4. “the Vanir are the Ones conspiring.”
    Add Loki and you have: my life. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I remember Odin’s Box of Crayons! In fact with recent editions to Crayola’s line, like wolf gray and outer space, it’s been on my mind recently. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

