Crafts and Services FAQ

This is by no means comprehensive, but I wanted to answer a few common questions people ask about my services and crafts:

GENERAL SUPPORT

1: I want to be supportive, but you don’t have anything for sale that I want, or can afford. What can I do?

Well, for starters, thank you so much for being supportive! Just knowing people are actually enjoying and benefiting from my work is really wonderful.

You can help a lot by sharing my blog, and especially my recent fundraising posts, on your social media to help me reach people who do want and can afford what I have to offer.

And you can always donate just a buck or two for my blog via the PayPal button on the right. Every little bit helps. 🙂

If all goes well I will be offering thank-you gifts to my supporters, and will do at least one give-away as well, so it’s not all just for big-spenders, I promise!

2: Can you take checks? What about credit cards? Cash?

Basically, if PayPal can take it, then I can take it.

Credit and debit cards can work with PayPal, so yes on those.

Cash only in person please.

Checks only if I know you, and even then I’d rather not.

3: Will you barter with me?

Right now, no, because I’m trying to raise money for something specific.

In general, sure, if we each have something the other needs, I’ll happily negotiate some barter.

4: Can I pay you in installments?

Oh, probably. Email me and we’ll talk about it: Ember Outreach at Gmail dot Com

CRAFTS

1: What kinds of crafts do you do?

Honestly, I do all kinds of stuff. There’s a reason I call myself “compulsively creative”. The main thing I can easily offer via the ‘net is hand-beaded jewelry, wire-work, and small projects with pyrography, paint, and/or henna on wood, bone, antler, or leather.

I also draw, and photoshop pretty well these days (NSFW: that’s a link to an erotica publisher I do book covers for!) Don’t worry, my silly little #FirstOtherworldProblems comics are not even close to my best work. 😉

For in-person requests, I often do mixed media or assemblage projects, especially to make wall altars, or other shrine containers. Also common requests: wirework or floral crowns, custom boffer weapons, fairy wings, and other eclectic mixed-media costume accessories.

The one thing I don’t do very well is sew with a machine, sorry.

2: Do you take commissions, suggestions, or requests?

Yes, to all of the above, but please do be clear which is which!

For small, easily shippable things, I’ll happily take commissions from anyone I can ship to.

For larger projects I prefer to be able to meet with people in person, whether it’s the customer directly or a mutual friend willing to play go-between. So far most commissions have been for family, friends, and occasionally friends-of-friends.

I especially welcome suggestions and requests for devotional jewelry inspired by particular gods. Whether it’s a god I already know and love, or I get to do a bit of interesting research about Them, I’m happy to oblige if I know people are interested.

My standard rates for commissions include hourly + materials, with the details being negotiable depending on where I’m to get the materials, the deadline, etc. Email me if you’re interested in placing a commission: Ember Outreach at Gmail dot Com

DIVINATION

1: Will you do a live reading?

Only if you can actually meet me in person. Trying to juggle a phone call or video chat while I’m doing a reading mostly just interferes with my process.

What I have found most effective when a long-distance client needs a reading is that we sort out the topic and/or question[s] in advance, and then I wait until the day has quieted down after my housemates are asleep, set my space, enter a light trance, and work with the cards and spirits as directly as possible without any interruptions or distractions. I take notes as I go and do a thorough writeup afterwards. Since this is frequently at 2 AM or later, most of my clients wouldn’t appreciate trying to be on the phone with me for it. 😉

I can and frequently do give in-person readings, usually at a coffee shop or restaurant. Those have the benefit of more immediate feedback and clarification, but tend to involve less trance work and thus less direct spirit input. It’s a tradeoff. I have a couple of savvy clients who ask for one or the other kind of reading based on their needs.

2: Can you use this particular Tarot layout for me?

Sure. It’s not necessarily going to work better than how I usually read, but I’ll give it a shot if you can give me the parameters of the layout you want me to use.

I should probably make a separate post explaining how I usually read…

3: Do you do other methods of divination?

Yes, I can do several forms of divination, actually. It’s part of the job when you’re a spirit worker, I suppose.

I offer Tarot readings to paying clients specifically because:

  • Tarot is an at-will method of divination.
  • I can read Tarot by myself, reliably.
  • I am both thoroughly trained and fairly talented at Tarot reading.
  • I have been working with the Tarot for about half my life now.

So I suppose I could use some other method if you really want me to, but it’s likely to result in sub-par service, or significant delays.

If you’re curious why Tarot instead of the Runes, well, that’s… complicated.

I’m sure there are more questions out there. If there’s something I haven’t addressed, feel free to ask!

–Ember–

About EmberVoices

Ember Cooke has been a member of Hrafnar and Seidhjallr for more than a decade, where she trained to be a Seidhkona, Galdrakona, and Gythia. She founded the Vanic Conspiracy and made ordination vows to the Vanir and her congregation in the summer of 2013. She has contributed to several publications on Heathen and Northern Pagan subjects and regularly presents rituals and workshops at festivals. Her personal practice is more diverse, as the Vanir have lead her into cross-training and service for the wider Pagan community. This has including medium and servitor training in American Umbanda, clergy training with the Fellowship of the Spiral Path, and jail ministry for local counties. She holds a BA with honors in Religious Studies from Santa Clara University. Ember has lived all her life in the south San Francisco Bay Area, and is intimately bound to the valley of her birth.
This entry was posted in Crafts, Lighthearted, Personal, ST4R, Tarot and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

