Patreon Potential: What Would You Like?

So I have a question for you all, my dear readers.

I’m making Patreon an available method for people to support my clergy work, including my writing here, the Vanic Edda book, the Tarot of Seasons project, any writing on Redwood Vanatru as I’m able to make things available, and for my congregants and students, any rituals and classes I run in person. (I’m not going to make Patreon support a requirement for any of these things to continue, of course, but having support does allow me to prioritize them, as well as taking some or all of the financial burden for my clergy work off of my atheist partner, Chien.)

My question is:

What kind of thank-you gifts would you like from me were you to subscribe to my Patreon channel?

I have a few ideas, most of which seem like I could do them roughly seasonally (or twice-seasonally if I aimed for the Wheel of the Year schedule), others might be monthly, depending on the time and resources involved.

  • MP3s of me singing a cappella devotional songs and chants I’ve written (most of which aren’t for the Vanir, though, so far…)
  • MP3s of me guiding journeys to different places on the World Tree.
  • MP3s of me guiding meditations inspired by various pagan topics (I’d take requests).
  • High-res digital images suitable for printing, of portraits of gods, done in whichever medium appealed to me (I’d take requests, but unless y’all like digital art, they’d be infrequent offerings).
  • Appearing at least once as a character in one of my silly #FirstOtherworldProblems comics.
  • One-each personalized bind-runes designed for your name, initials, or other long-term purpose.
  • One-time gift of wood-burned pendants with the simple symbol of your choice (incl. individual runes, established bindrunes, the vanatru boar, valknot, etc.)
  • ???

I’m open to both votes on these, and further suggestions!

–Ember–

About EmberVoices

Ember Cooke has been a member of Hrafnar and Seidhjallr for more than a decade, where she trained to be a Seidhkona, Galdrakona, and Gythia. She founded the Vanic Conspiracy and made ordination vows to the Vanir and her congregation in the summer of 2013. She has contributed to several publications on Heathen and Northern Pagan subjects and regularly presents rituals and workshops at festivals. Her personal practice is more diverse, as the Vanir have lead her into cross-training and service for the wider Pagan community. This has including medium and servitor training in American Umbanda, clergy training with the Fellowship of the Spiral Path, and jail ministry for local counties. She holds a BA with honors in Religious Studies from Santa Clara University. Ember has lived all her life in the south San Francisco Bay Area, and is intimately bound to the valley of her birth.
This entry was posted in Crafts, Personal, ST4R and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Patreon Potential: What Would You Like?

  1. Perlandria says:

    > Is it considered disingenuous to then make an album of them? If not, sure!

    I think if you decide one way or the other, and make it clear if you decide to aggregate your content according to media, type, or theme, then it won’t be disingenuous. Just set the expectation so people understand they are getting intimate sneak peeks, and potentially the only peeks if you never get to a project, so they don’t feel blindsided. Frustration or interest in aggregations being made into collections can be used to get a crowdsource going. (Ok, I have 10 of the 21 devotional songs I wrote recorded. People are asking for more. I will do all 21 if this crowdsource funding goal is met. (link here).)(And then you can stretch goal for what would be liner notes, attributions, inspirations, art work, bloopers etc.)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Perlandria says:

    A lot of the Patreaons that I see thrive invite visibility into the process. This gives more context, and potentially more depth of appreciation, to the end results of the work. You are already creating extra content in the process of making end content. Use that too.

    These gifts are a good idea. They are. But they take even more time and energy, and a lot of them could be seen as one shot. Maybe save them for bigger subscriptions.

    Also, how do these rewards tie into a body of work you can draw out of later? Are you planning on making an album of guided meditations available?

    Example: Are you going to limit the bind runes to ones that can be published later, or mentioned in media as teaching examples so you can get several layers out of the creation of a bind rune? Like, if you made Perlandria’s Happy Family Rune, you could document the drafts, your thoughts, and why you made certain decisions for a less invested tier of Patreons, you could make available to me if I was a deeply invested tier a bespoke bind rune, and then you would have in combination material for several posts, articles, or publications. I would still get an Ember crafted bespoke bind rune, which is amazing, and I would get the use of it first and at a time useful to me. It takes little from me, and could be part of the magic of it, to have that rune enjoyed by others afterwards. I don’t feel I lose anything by not having exclusivity of the knowledge of the shape of the bind rune. And I know I would gain a lot from knowing how and why you crafted it. I have sat with you as you craft bind runes. Witnessing that is worth paying for.

    Like

    • EmberVoices says:

      Hmm, very good points, thank you.

      Um, I was indeed thinking of the recordings (which I have done in the past and want to get better at anyway, yes) as things that would be for, say $5/month or above. That’s the current marking, anyway. Is it considered disingenuous to then make an album of them? If not, sure!

      The bindrunes I offer because they don’t really take that much energy for *my* brain, but other people find them difficult, so it’s an easy service for me to offer that is of greater value to others. But yes, I DO have a workshop on bindrunes that could potentially turn into a longer class with more examples, or even a short book in the long run.

      You said something…

      > A lot of the Patreaons that I see thrive invite visibility into the process. This gives more context, and potentially more depth of appreciation, to the end results of the work. You are already creating extra content in the process of making end content. Use that too.

      Can you say that another way or unpack it? I’m not sure I really understand, and it sounds very important. You think about this stuff from angles I can’t reach, and your input is very valuable to me.

      Thank you very much!

      –Ember–

      Like

      • Perlandria says:

        >You are already creating extra content in the process of making end content. Use that too.

        It is less concrete when talking about intellectual or performative goods instead of material goods, but I’ll try to see if using examples might help.

        Take the performance popular media show, something like the voice, or you think you can dance. The end content for the voice might be a solo cover by a contestant.

        But that solo takes the intellectual and emotional process work on the part of the coach to decide which cover to use, and that is captured in an interview. Then there is the process work of rehearsal, where the contestant and the coach go into making the cover fit. That is also captured in kind of a montage. There is a ton of process work that isn’t captured for us, such as the styling decisions for the appearance of the solo cover performance. But I bet most of our theater people would love that. Anyhow, a lot of steps go into the end result, and those steps themselves are shiny. Show them off.

        This helps make that solo cover something which means more than the moment to an empathetic or voyeuristic audience. Being shown the shiny journey invites going along on the journey, in a narrative sense. We’re given the narrator view of the story of that solo cover, and we’re used to consuming narrator view. We’re used to getting into peoples heads. We like it. We’re used to the backstage access of documentary or exposition. We like it. Show it to us.

        Visibility into the steps and the journey helps highlight any themes. Themes help with a sense of narrative, centering, and belonging. Themes help us attach giving a fuck from something in the past to the present moment without having to invest a lot of spoons in getting a handle on the moment. It is a way to have a bigger emotional win for less effort. If, in the solo cover example, the contestant is known for coming from a church or gospel background and has been put through a lot of covers that are different, when the coach finally recenters the story on the contestant’s spiraling evolution as an artist by letting them do gospel, like they might have auditioned with, we get to appreciate the sweetness of the moment. Themes help bring us there. They help expand the moment. Themes can help with liminality, by being a bridge. You have themes. We all do. Show them. They have value beyond the moment.

        So to switch from the show example to an example from your list, let’s plug in your devotional songs.

        You make a recording. Ok.

        How did you prepare to make that recording? Was there a meditative practice or visual focus like an altar? Something as simple as a picture or quick private link vlog? Can that be shared as a Patreon only peek into the process? Do you do a particular type of vocal warm up? How do you edit it? That can be a different level of Patreon for people who want the work. Is there a story behind the song? Can that be made into a blog post (*) where you can drive traffic to your Patreon account by letting people know hearing you sing that song is possible. Can your Patreon levels be set up to allow access on themes, such as a tarot level, or a song level?

        How are you using your content streams to lift each other up? Do your writings, recordings, sneak peaks, etc. have a way for people to cross back and forth? Do you leave bridges so people who stumble across on thing can easily see how to support you. Are you planning on having static, mellow reminders and active, targeted reminders.

        You were just talking about being a Scorpio… Nothing wrong with helping new or old people who might not have the time to explore, or notice things, find what feeds you.

        Does any of that make sense?

        Liked by 1 person

        • EmberVoices says:

          It makes sense in the abstract. I’m not 100% sure how I’m going to be able to implement it in my case, because SO much of my process is completely internal, and I’m afraid externalizing it would just show up as a video or audio recording of me thinking out loud and hoping that shows something useful.

          But I can kind of see it with something like Bindrune design “Okay, here’s the goal, so which runes to use? Well there’s these… I don’t want this one because of these secondary connotations, I really want this one instead, so okay, here’s the 3 runes I’m using. Next up, let’s play with putting them together. What’s my goal? This kind of design comes together roughly this way, so I already know I’m not doing this, this, or this…” And that could be a good video, if I can get a good camera.

          But so much of writing songs or whatever is… “I was driving in the car and They dropped this song in my head, so here it is, I hope you like it.” and that’s all I can really tell you.

          So some of the challenge isn’t the products themselves, but how to actually SHOW my process in a way that is coherent for the audience when it’s only barely coherent to me!

          Which is the flip side of Scorpio, right? “Wait, you want to SEE this? Uhhh… but it’s… not visible… so…. gimme a while, I’ll… figure something out….”

          -E-

          Like

Leave a Reply

