Spoon Jewelry Update

Tonight we held our annual Midsommer ritual for the Vanic Conspiracy. I was prompted to bring along the box of devotional and prayer necklaces I have for sale.

While I had everyone together, the group poured healing blessings into the available Spoon Jewelry. One of our members, who is also trained in BTW, observed that tonight is a waxing moon and perfect for healing spells – so much the better!

The healing we’ve charged them up with is specifically not Reiki because I know that some people don’t do well with Reiki. I have still not anointed any of them with healing spell oil either, because I know some folks have fragrance allergies. Either or both of these can be added to any of these pieces if the new owner would benefit from them, for no additional charge.

The spoon bracelet Valhalla’s Pledge, which I suspected would go to an ailing veteran has indeed been sent on to its proper home. Weyland’s Gift and Rose Spoon are still available, with pictures below to remind you. And here’s a sneak-peak of the last spoon pendant from this batch, as well, which is not yet blessed.

Lucky Spoon

This Lucky Spoon will be the focal pendant on a necklace of luck charms for prosperity, health, and good fortune!

Enjoy!:)

Knotwork Spoon Necklace

An iron spoon from a horseshoe nail to grant strength and luck. A complex knot to confound all ill. May this necklace bring health and good fortune to any who wear it!

Weyland’s Gift ($20) CLAIMED!: A twisted iron salt-spoon smithed from a lucky horseshoe nail is suspended from tightly-woven thick black cord hand-wound into a decorative bumblebee knot. ~22″ inner diameter at largest. Knot and spoon hang down ~3″.

Blessed by the waxing moon at midsummer with healing energy for whoever wears it.

Rose Spoon

Roses and rose quartz frame a delicate silvery spoon.

Rose Spoon ($80) SOLD!: Large rose quartz rounds alternate with medium pale quartz rounds and silvery hollow-metal spacers. Two large vintage ceramic tubes decorated with delicate pale lavender-pink rosebuds frame an ornate, silvery spoon pendant. Pearl knotted by hand on a double-strand of sturdy beading cord, with finished ends, and a fishhook clasp. ~24.5″

Blessed by the waxing moon at midsummer with healing plant energy of rose, blackberry, and rosemary, for whoever wears it!

All prices include shipping for North American buyers. International buyers, we’d need to discuss shipping costs.

To purchase either of these pieces, email me at Ember Outreach at Gmail dot Com with your mailing address, and selection.

Payment is via PayPal. 🙂

–Ember–

** “Why a spoon, cousin?” you may ask. Read The Spoon Theory written by Christine Miserandino to find out more!

About EmberVoices

Ember Cooke has been a member of Hrafnar and Seidhjallr for more than a decade, where she trained to be a Seidhkona, Galdrakona, and Gythia. She founded the Vanic Conspiracy and made ordination vows to the Vanir and her congregation in the summer of 2013. She has contributed to several publications on Heathen and Northern Pagan subjects and regularly presents rituals and workshops at festivals. Her personal practice is more diverse, as the Vanir have lead her into cross-training and service for the wider Pagan community. This has including medium and servitor training in American Umbanda, clergy training with the Fellowship of the Spiral Path, and jail ministry for local counties. She holds a BA with honors in Religious Studies from Santa Clara University. Ember has lived all her life in the south San Francisco Bay Area, and is intimately bound to the valley of her birth.
This entry was posted in Crafts, Personal, ST4R and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Spoon Jewelry Update

  1. Heather Awen says:

    If not for Lyme disease and babesiosis causing meningitis like pain in my neck I would definitely buy one of these . It’s great to see pagans acknowledging chronic illness . Thank you so much!

    Like

    • EmberVoices says:

      Is there some other form of jewelry you would rather have?

      -E-

      Liked by 1 person

      • Heather Awen says:

        I actually even allergic to metal LOL. I really do like the Vanatru symbol a lot BTW, almost bought the pendant until I again realized I don’t have the neck strength and I am allergic to metal LOL. It has a lot of power in it. Anyway, I’m really grateful that you thought to make spoons for people . And they have healing energy. Maybe big wooden mixing spoons that can be held when lying in bed all day. But I’m too chemically sensitive for fabric, glue, paint etc. but the idea of wrapping a wooden spoon with wire with glass, wood, bone and some metal beads and using scraps of organic cotton and linen might be something I will do. Thank you for the great idea! I just need to have the spoons to be able to make the spoon LOL! Also I found your Freya shrine to be very similar to my own experiences which always is nice to find. I’m doing one for Hnoss and another I hope for Gullveig Heid. Raven asked me why Freya’s other daughter was not included and I said the truth ” I’ve never met her.” But if somebody does have a relationship with her maybe the shrines could be combined . That’s just a Vanatru call if you know of anybody who would be very upset if one was honored and the other wasn’t . Thank you , I don’t read blogs very often because of being chronically ill but I have yours bookmarked and really enjoy it .

        Liked by 1 person

        • Heather Awen says:

          Thank you so much for not using Reiki! So few people understand that not one-size-fits-all and some of us are actually burned by Reiki.

          Liked by 1 person

          • EmberVoices says:

            I *can* use Reiki, I just don’t *default* to it anymore.

            It happens that many of my friends are allergic to one or more metals.

            It also happens that I have a whole collection of little, colorful plastic spoons. I don’t usually work in plastic much, but I buy these when I find them to give out to people at conventions and festivals. I could easily craft you something wearable from one or more of them!

            To be clear: I’m not trying to push you to buy something, I’m offering to accommodate your needs if you actually do want spoon jewelry from me.

            –Ember–

            Liked by 1 person

        • EmberVoices says:

          My experience is that Hnoss is very shy without Gersemi there to guard Her as Her big sister. However, we do know that how Hnoss and Gersemi manifest varies somewhat. They’re reasonably consistent within the Vanic Conspiracy’s experience, but as I’m usually there, that may be Their response to my presence…

          Wooden spoons can also work. I have some smallish ones, but they’re a little large for jewelry… Hmm… What about carved antler?

          -E-

          Liked by 1 person

          • Heather Awen says:

            I found her to be really shy as well , especially if trying to go through her mother but once I made a shrine for her father she was very talkative . A lot of “straight talk” only someone so young could say . Freya as a mother is really neglected , most people forget that . And she’s a single mother . So there are the natural tensions there . Plus having to go from Asgard to Vanaheim and back again , it’s a lot of things that any children of divorce would experience, although with Freya the Asgard /Vanaheim moving back-and-forth stuff is not about the father but because of the whole family . So getting her perspective on Asgard is really interesting , like Frigga’s too uptight about her house to enjoy it , Odin is a disgusting old pervert ( she’s at that age where her sexuality is showing ) , and she has some shame issues about her mother and uncle being lovers , but when she is in Vanaheim none of that bothers her , she said she likes to protect little kids who are going through divorce or moving , she can step up and be their protector/guide. And it’s helpful for mothers to have a daughter who has just gotten crazy from hormones and is suddenly the meanest person ever towards them . Because she can really have issues with Freya , like Freya drove off her father, also because Freya is so popular I have found that Hnoss doesn’t like anyone who works mostly with her mother to try to contact her because she really likes to keep their personal family life separate from Freya as a goddess life , I don’t know if that makes any sense , but it’s also about not being used by people .

            And then there’s an entirely different level of her where she is great with her mother and with her aunt Heide and together they are really wonderful to me , Hnoss has taught me more about the connection to the dwarves , treasure and jewels , but also about how horrible the mining industry is on a level I never thought of before, how it affects the dwarves who seem to admire Hnoss, like she is a well-made treasure , and there is some connection to the dwarves for the goddesses while Frey has an out right connection to the light elves .

            But what I found most amazing was that Hnoss is even more blunt than her mother if she thinks that something is imbalanced . When we were first getting to know each other, and I really just enjoy her company a lot , after I got past the shy formal side to her and she became more childlike seeing what I made for her father and then I made something for her and she asked for it to be next to her father , she asked me why if I work for her family am I broke ? Because they are all this wealth , something that her uncle tried to say but he’s more diplomatic . So she reinforces is the idea of worth again .

            But this is all just my personal experience with her , and because I used to work with 12–13-year-old girls and really love that age, even though I was hell on wheels when I was 13 towards my mother like many of my friends are now experiencing with their daughters , it would make sense that my relationship with her would be similar to how easy it is for me to talk to human girls about all the complexities . It’s the first time I’ve ever seen a god or goddess with very human opinions and feelings but at the same time can become a composed , very ancient and wise deity . She is just someone that I love hanging out with , and the more we hang out the more layers that she has , but she’s never once mentioned her sister and I don’t know why , the only deities I have relationships with are the ones that want them and then they show me whatever side is best for me to experience of their “personality .” I forgot how shy she was until you mentioned it !

            That’s my experience with her so far, the stuff for single mothers and children being removed from families or where they feel comfortable , etc. is kind of superficial about how she can help , also she and her mother can help with mother-daughter issues around this age . But then there are so many deeper things especially about treasure and the connection to the dwarves who really respect her and she has some sort of protective feeling towards , plus her really close relationship with her uncle and her grandfather who keeps her away from Odin , she seems really excited to talk a lot I guess that’s how it is at that age , so she can explain a lot of things from an interesting point of view. Especially as a Vanir girl navigating Asgard, although she doesn’t talk as much about Vanaheim because everything is much easier there .

            I don’t know if anybody has any similar experiences with her , she and I connected so quickly basically just me being quiet and now I feel like she needs me as much as I need her on one level because she tests humans to see what their motives are , I guess some just want her for literal treasure and others just want to use her as an extension of Freya so it’s rare for her to have human worshipers . Compared to her mother . What I love is how much I just enjoy being with her. I can imagine that it would be hard to form relationships with humans when your mother is one of the most popular goddesses ever .

            Anyway the more Freya made me experience her experience with Odr disappearing , the more I understood how many women especially Swedish would have lost husbands who went Viking across to the Baltic Sea and then to the Volga River . Frigga doesn’t cover that part of marriage and it must’ve been a very common experience and Freya I don’t think people understand is more about compassion then romantic love , Freya understands that horrible pain and can shoulder the grief so the woman isn’t carrying it all alone . I’m not even sure why people think she is a goddess to pray to for a romantic relationship when she doesn’t have one . She is desire which makes us grow , the desire to live , the desire to love , those cause transformations, she has a lot to do with learning self compassion especially for people who are naturally almost doormats because they can see how lovable everybody is inside and they’ve put that before their own value , more than half of my relationship with her is her telling me to put myself first and it was years of struggle about whether or not that was ethically okay , but now that I have to fight for my life with these illnesses I understand what she was saying . She is about so many different kinds of love like the love that makes you have to take a stand against injustice as one example , but I still haven’t found her very connected to ” I want a boyfriend/husband for a conventional unchallenging relationship .” There are so many other sources of love , sometimes I think she pushes for people to free themselves from the illusion that having this unrealistic love relationship will somehow make everything in life all better forever , which is what I found people mean when they come for psychic reading and they ask ” will I be in a relationship with Mr. right soon?” Or “will I fall in love and have a relationship?” What they usually are asking me is ” will I meet somebody and never feel any hurt ever again ?”

            Freya gives answers about love that people asking that don’t want to hear , even if it’s about love that is greater , immediately available etc. and none of her relationships have been easy and that’s where we return to the fact that she’s a single mother whose husband disappeared , not exactly your average romantic love goddess.

            I’m rambling! Sorry , Hnoss is just really special to me. And I’ve never encountered anyone who’s ever met her before .

            Like

          • EmberVoices says:

            Wow there’s a lot there, I’m going to have to come back and read this again.

            One thing I can offer: We’ve experienced Hnoss as more 6-7 yrs and Gersemi as the pre-teen. But again, They’re *gods* not humans. Our perceptions aren’t going to be the whole picture, and are going to be very dependent on who and what we are as channels as well as Who and What They are as entities. 🙂

            I really want to come back to this when I have more brain…

            -E-

            Liked by 1 person

          • EmberVoices says:

            > Because she can really have issues with Freya , like Freya drove off her father

            I’ve mostly approached Hnoss and Gersemi through Vanaheim, and thus don’t see as much of the stuck-in-Asgard side of Them. This is interesting stuff!

            I will say, since Odr may well have become Odin, it’s *very* interesting to see that Hnoss also does not recognise Odin as Odr (or at least, the aspect of Her you relate to doesn’t. Gods are so complex…)

            > also because Freya is so popular I have found that Hnoss doesn’t like anyone who works mostly with her mother to try to contact her

            Hm. I haven’t been seeing this, but we’ve been approaching all of the Vanir collectively as a family, so maybe that’s a difference.

            > the dwarves who seem to admire Hnoss, like she is a well-made treasure, and there is some connection to the dwarves for the goddesses while Frey has an out right connection to the light elves.

            Very interesting! I hadn’t specifically noticed it that way. It would be very interesting to see how consistent that is. I mean, Gerd is effectively the Lady of the Ljosalfar, by being married to Freyr, but Freyja was never that, really…

            > she asked me why if I work for her family am I broke?

            Ouch. How did that conversation go?

            > But this is all just my personal experience with her, and because I used to work with 12–13-year-old girls and really love that age

            Heh, that has likely had a significant affect on how She presents to you, yes. 🙂

            > That’s my experience with her so far, the stuff for single mothers and children being removed from families or where they feel comfortable

            Which is interesting, because of course the living style historically, and among the Vanir and even the Aesir today doesn’t really resemble our one-nuclear-family-one-household model in the developed West, so I’ve never really thought of Freyja as being primarily a Single Mom. You’t think I grew up in a Single Mom household with my own Mom and Sister (with regular visits to Dad’s household, mind you.)

            But Freyja doesn’t talk to me about it that way, generally, and it’s clear from the other Vanir that, at least in Vanaheim, the family is part of a larger picture that is very supportive. Freyja’s original marriage to Freyr is very much intact, regardless of their respective marriages to Odr and Gerd, and the whole family dotes on Freyja’s daughters, so I guess it just didn’t register…

            > plus her really close relationship with her uncle and her grandfather who keeps her away from Odin

            Which, if Odr did become Odin is that much more interesting… Whatever transformation that entailed made Odin an unacceptable father by Vanic standards?

            > I don’t know if anybody has any similar experiences with her

            Not to this level of depth, that I know of. But Hnoss and Gersemi both will manifest at whatever age the person They are interacting with most needs from Them, I’ve found. So this still makes plenty of sense for you.

            > I understood how many women especially Swedish would have lost husbands who went Viking

            Or on merchant trips or fishing, yes. That is very much a part of Odr’s story with Freyja. 😦

            > I’m not even sure why people think she is a goddess to pray to for a romantic relationship when she doesn’t have one.

            Sure She does. She has *many*. Perhaps this makes more sense from a polyamorous perspective…

            > She is desire which makes us grow , the desire to live , the desire to love , those cause transformations, she has a lot to do with learning self compassion

            Yep.

            > especially for people who are naturally almost doormats because they can see how lovable everybody is inside and they’ve put that before their own value, more than half of my relationship with her is her telling me to put myself first

            Yeeeeesss.

            > ”I want a boyfriend/husband for a conventional unchallenging relationship .”

            Well, no. But part of that is that a conventional relationship is NOT an unchallenging one, so basically, no love god is a god of *impossible* relationships.

            Still, your point stands that looking for Marriage is perhaps better directed towards Frigga, Sjofn, and Lofn.

            > There are so many other sources of love

            Right?!

            > She pushes for people to free themselves from the illusion that having this unrealistic love relationship will somehow make everything in life all better forever

            Exactly.

            Perhaps we should switch to email…

            Ember Outreach AT Gmail DOT Com 😀

            -E-

            Liked by 1 person

          • EmberVoices says:

            “You’t think I grew up in a Single Mom household with my own Mom and Sister (with regular visits to Dad’s household, mind you.)”

            Eep, something got deleted in there. I DID grow up with a Single Mom, so you’d think I’d have caught that side of Freyja more, but not so much.

            Liked by 1 person

          • Heather Awen says:

            It seems to be really downplayed , like a sexy woman cannot be a mother . Maybe it’s cultural choices of how people want Freya to be . I never thought about her as a mother until hanging out with her daughter although it does seem like Freya is pretty protective of “her personal life.” Almost like being a goddess is a job with humans but she still has her kids to take care of .

            I think that what Freya experience with losing her husband matches the experience of many women who lost raiding and trading husbands. The amount of Viking ships at the bottom of the English Channel is so large , that’s just one example. This isn’t something that Frigga understands personally so I think someone has to for the humans to need gods and goddesses and it went to the goddess of all different kinds of love Freya , maybe she is who Widows turn to , or women who don’t know if he started a new family with a Slavic woman , etc. they needed to have some sort of comfort and I think Freya must have provided that since nobody else has the experience. Because she searched the Baltic and because a lot of Swedish Vikings went to Russia and then down to Byzantine, I assume that is why Freya went east . Just trying to mix history with mythology so I have some context and I realized how many women must have suffered like Freya did and I wonder if she help them get through it.

            Yeah, I don’t think patriarchal culture likes to have sexy women also be mothers . Like no one wants to know if the stripper has children. It ruins it. Maybe that’s another one of Freya’s “scandalous ” behaviors , a mother who is connected to sexuality . The culture clash between the Vanir and the Aesir hint at what is normal behavior in Vanaheim .

            But I never would’ve thought about Freya as a mother if it hadn’t been for Hnoss ! It’s only now that I’ve been wondering why the aspect of Freya as mother is never noted in writing about her and I think it just has to be culture , mothers are supposed to be virgins . That’s how we want to see them or have been told to see them for so long .

            They are so big and they are so many things , I’m always interested in whatever little piece someone experiences even if it’s very different from mine because I know mine is tiny , so it’s great to read about other peoples experience with the Vanir . I wish there was a book , an anthology, by Vanatru people showing the vast variety of how we have all experienced the Vanir in different ways , with there being no dogma or ” this is how you have to think and what you must believe ” , just a place for people to see the many different aspects . Sometimes I worry that someone will try to write a book they called the definitive Vanatru guide . When they are so big ! And are different in different cultures , places, times , they adapt to meet the needs of the people , and they tell everyone different things depending on what that person is needing to understand and what that person can do for them .

            So I was sad that I looked you up hoping you had a book of your own Vanatru experiences, rituals , holidays, who you included as gods and goddesses and what they have revealed to you . Too bad there isn’t a Vanatru magazine where all different perspectives could be showcased as the religion makes itself known and changes , or we change in response to what their needs today are.

            Anyway thank you for writing what you do on your blog . I copied your response so when I’m not so brain-dead I can email you back. And yes, I was the fastest journalist at the largest newspaper in Canada , so even when I’m exhausted somehow my brain just clicks with writing even if every other part of me is off-line LOL. prolific is a nice way of saying hyperactive ! But it gets in the way of resting LOL.

            Like

          • EmberVoices says:

            Heh, well one theory is that men don’t like the idea that the woman they’re attracted to has already had *another* man’s children, but that’s extremely essentialist, which I try not to do.

            Ha! Yes, Freyja, I DO HEAR YOU! I’m working on books… slowly. There ARE Vanatru books out there, but not nearly enough, and the main ones I know of are by Seb, so they’re somewhat specialized to Eshnahai Vanatru (I hope I spelled that right!). Still, there’s a lot of good stuff there, so you should definitely check his stuff out.

            You already know about Raven, so you already know about the shrines, I trust, and various individual devotionals.

            I’m working on stuff for my branch of Vanatru, RedWood Vanatru. Every little bit helps, yeah?

            -E-

            Liked by 1 person

          • Heather Awen says:

            Yay!

            Like

        • EmberVoices says:

          Oh! Actually, you wouldn’t want a necklace anyway, and this little wooden spoon would make a cute hair barrette perhaps? Hmm… -E-

          Liked by 1 person

          • Heather Awen says:

            I have such severe multiple chemical sensitivity that I can’t be around plastic and I also have to be careful with wood because it absorbs things like incense for woodstove smoke . Unfortunately there are a lot of really beautiful things I would like to own but there’s no way because of MCS , I live in one room with a lot of air purifiers and because of having chronic Lyme disease end babesiosis , what they used to think was malaria, I very rarely get out of bed . With the MCS nobody is non-toxic enough even if they bathe here and where the small amount of safe organic clothing I have found to visit me , chemicals come out of the pores of their skin . Even my furniture is not what I would want, it’s all metal mostly and my bed is all natural rubber , I can only eat a few foods and even being around herbs causes seizures now because of the powerful chemicals in them . I am completely ink. intolerant so I can’t have books or pens or a printer, I leave the room about four times a year .

            But they are really beautiful! I wish that I didn’t have the tickborne illnesses because at least I have the energy to sew a version of the Vanatru symbol or draw it using organic beeswax crayons from Germany . I don’t mind having multiple chemical sensitivity that much actually because it really forces me to live in a way that I’ve noticed the Vanir really like , absolutely nothing with pesticides , my relationship with food is really important , as far as anything with ecology it’s been forced on me to live by values I thought I couldn’t afford but when the alternative is dying somehow the money is there .

            The thing that makes me most sad is that there just aren’t very many beautiful things that I can have because of never knowing what could make me sick . But your work is really wonderful! I actually sent a link to someone I know who is northern tradition pagan with chronic fatigue syndrome , I also have that, because I think she would love them to . Thank you for trying so hard to accommodate . The fact that you don’t put fragrance on them unless you know if that’s okay for the person and that you understand all energy work is not safe for all people is so rare because ableism is so prevalent and I was really happy that you mentioned those things because essential oils will cause seizures in me and my mother but a lot of people think that “natural” automatically means safe for everyone . It made me a little bit sad that I actually was so happy and realized that it’s a big reason why I don’t have anything to do with paganism, having to constantly explain environmental illness to people in “nature religion” using so many toxic things just become so depressing and adds to the alienation . So congratulations for being the first pagan selling anything I’ve come across in 31 years who is aware of the fact that people are not one-size-fits-all with anything , especially healing.

            Like

          • EmberVoices says:

            Wow, that may be the most severe case of MCS I’ve ever heard of! I have other Pagan friends with MCS, but even the worst of them can be around plastic as long as it’s had plenty of time to outgass and is cleaned with safe-for-them soaps!

            Yeah, if I know I need to be careful with an item, I will be as careful as I possibly can, but there’s only so much I can guarantee. :/

            -E-

            Like

  2. Redfaery says:

    May I just say that I find these ADORABLE???

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

