Vanatru Parody (ABBA)

Happy New Year folks!

I want to start the year fresh, with a bit of humor. I hope you like filk, and ABBA!

[Finally Facing I’m] Vanatru
(Or “An Example of a Vanic Conspiracy”)

Lyrics by me, without apologies to ABBA, since the original “Waterloo” was just as bad!

One day… some Old Man scolded me to pay attention
And then… I tried to talk to faeries but they just sent me away
Those Pagan books on the shelves
They’re not all just about elves!

Vanatru! Drowning in signs that I can’t ignore
Vanatru! Lady of Love standing at my door
Vanatru! Couldn’t escape if I wanted to
Vanatru! Finding my calling in serving You
Whoah-whoah-uh-oh Vanatru! Finally facing I’m Vanatru!

So now… I’ve tried to find some gods who were obscurer
And wow… the Vanir are quite popular, but most of Them are lost
So how could I not burrow in?
When I find a reference, I win!

Vanatru! Wish there was more of Them in the Lore
Vanatru! Searching for history to explore
Vanatru! Couldn’t escape if I wanted to
Vanatru! Knowing my calling is serving You
Whoah-whoah-uh-oh Vanatru! Finally facing I’m Vanatru!

Good Lord!… it seems Veraldrgodh finds me attractive
I’m floored! This consort thing is daunting but it seems like quite a trip
And how could I ever deny
That Alflord is one sexy guy!

Vanatru! Claimed by a god on a golden boar
Vanatru! Can’t help but love You for ever more
Vanatru! Couldn’t escape if I wanted to
Vanatru! Knowing my calling is loving You
Whoah-whoah-uh-oh Vanatru! Finally facing I’m Vanatru!

–Ember–

P.S. I wrote this a couple years ago, but I was inspired to post it here because I was just watching Mama Mia for the first time. Ohhhhh dear. ;p

About EmberVoices

Ember Cooke has been a member of Hrafnar and Seidhjallr for more than a decade, where she trained to be a Seidhkona, Galdrakona, and Gythia. She founded the Vanic Conspiracy and made ordination vows to the Vanir and her congregation in the summer of 2013. She has contributed to several publications on Heathen and Northern Pagan subjects and regularly presents rituals and workshops at festivals. Her personal practice is more diverse, as the Vanir have lead her into cross-training and service for the wider Pagan community. This has including medium and servitor training in American Umbanda, clergy training with the Fellowship of the Spiral Path, and jail ministry for local counties. She holds a BA with honors in Religious Studies from Santa Clara University. Ember has lived all her life in the south San Francisco Bay Area, and is intimately bound to the valley of her birth.
This entry was posted in Crafts, Gnosis, Lighthearted, Lore, Personal, Poetry, Polytheistic Theology, Praxis, RedWood Vanatru, ST4R, Vanatru and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Vanatru Parody (ABBA)

  1. Jan Tjeerd says:

    I know this is a late comment – but hey. it’s here. Love it! I love ABBA so this is an awesome use of the wonderful tune created by Benny and Bjorn. I think this could be a fun thing to do at Pantheacon. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. EmberVoices says:

    I had realized belatedly that two of the lines didn’t scan properly. The used to be:

    It turns out though the Vanir are quite popular, that most of them are lost
    and
    This consort thing is more than I had bargained for, but seems like quite a trip

    I finally figured out how to shorten them correctly, so I edited the post! Wheee!

    -E-

    Like

  3. Raistlynn says:

    This made me crack right up, its beautiful. So glad you posted this.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

