Hail Keith “Cynan” Roberts! Rest Well, Old Friend.

Keith Roberts, better known to the extended SF Bay Area Pagan, Fandom, SCA, Poly, etc. communities as Cynan, died earlier today.

I’m not up for writing a glowing obituary just yet. Cynan was a dear friend of mine, and I was absolutely wrecked when we thought we lost him on Monday. I knew that his being in a medical coma on life support thereafter simply meant that his beloved wife Kim was being left with the difficult choice of when to pull him off of that support.

She chose today. Those who were able to attend in person were welcome. I was not able to do so, but I sang for him on Monday, and last night. By the time I woke up today, he had passed on. I have a candle burning for him to guide his passing now.

I first met Cynan at sci fi conventions when I was a teenager. He was unconditionally supportive, and gently honest. He treated me as having the mind and agency of an adult, but gave me the protection due a child, which was exactly what I needed. When I joined the Pagan community, he was there, supportive as always. Throughout my life he has been there. Not every day, but at regular, trustworthy intervals.

He always loved my singing, and I knew from the clarity of his own beautiful voice that this was high praise indeed offered from someone who knew singing well.

I don’t know what to say to praise him, honestly. I’m still wrapped up in my own loss with his absence from the community.

A lot of people are mourning our friend, brother, uncle, mentor.

Please be supportive if you can, especially to Kim. [Edit] There is a GoFundMe to help her handle the expenses associated with this loss. 😦 https://www.gofundme.com/kimberly-roberts-support

Hail the New Ancestor, Cynan Roberts! May you journey well, old friend!

–Ember–

About EmberVoices

Ember Cooke has been a member of Hrafnar and Seidhjallr for more than a decade, where she trained to be a Seidhkona, Galdrakona, and Gythia. She founded the Vanic Conspiracy and made ordination vows to the Vanir and her congregation in the summer of 2013. She has contributed to several publications on Heathen and Northern Pagan subjects and regularly presents rituals and workshops at festivals. Her personal practice is more diverse, as the Vanir have lead her into cross-training and service for the wider Pagan community. This has including medium and servitor training in American Umbanda, clergy training with the Fellowship of the Spiral Path, and jail ministry for local counties. She holds a BA with honors in Religious Studies from Santa Clara University. Ember has lived all her life in the south San Francisco Bay Area, and is intimately bound to the valley of her birth.
This entry was posted in Ancestors, Community, Personal, Praxis, ST4R and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hail Keith “Cynan” Roberts! Rest Well, Old Friend.

  1. Widdershins says:

    Bon Voyage Ember’s friend, Cynan.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

