“Fluid Is My Gender”

For National Coming Out Day, I present to you a guest post and collaboration with my dear friend and colleague, Dee Shull. They shared with me this poem, and I so loved it that I asked them if I could make a graphic and blog post out of it. 😀 –Ember–

"I am fluid"

“I AM FLUID”

Fluid Is My Gender
by Dee Shull, 2016

I am the raging seas, indigo-black and pale green foam and flashes
when the lightning echoes in the skies

I am the shining brook, dappled in gold and green and so deep
that if you fall in, you will never be found

I am the spring at the bottom of the pond, animals finding me
hospitable and life-giving even in the dry times

I am the well, deep and quiet, full moon and midday sun
reflected in my waters

I am the trickle through the stone that cracks
the foundations of your world

I am the mist that conceals us both

I am the spray of the tide of the ninth wave crashing in

I am the pounding of the rain on your roof, reminding you
that many autumns begin with petrichor

And I am the dew in the fields, casting rainbows in dawn light.

I am genderfluid. My gender is fluid. Fluid is my gender.
Would that my body           could conform to my soul.

About EmberVoices

Ember Cooke has been a member of Hrafnar and Seidhjallr for more than a decade, where she trained to be a Seidhkona, Galdrakona, and Gythia. She founded the Vanic Conspiracy and made ordination vows to the Vanir and her congregation in the summer of 2013. She has contributed to several publications on Heathen and Northern Pagan subjects and regularly presents rituals and workshops at festivals. Her personal practice is more diverse, as the Vanir have lead her into cross-training and service for the wider Pagan community. This has including medium and servitor training in American Umbanda, clergy training with the Fellowship of the Spiral Path, and jail ministry for local counties. She holds a BA with honors in Religious Studies from Santa Clara University. Ember has lived all her life in the south San Francisco Bay Area, and is intimately bound to the valley of her birth.
This entry was posted in Community, Crafts, Personal, Poetry, Politics, ST4R and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “Fluid Is My Gender”

  1. Pingback: Gender – What’s the Big Idea? | The Liminal Waters

Leave a Reply

