MWD: Hope

My Month of Written Devotion is for the Spirit of the Santa Clara Valley

Hope

I hope I never have to leave Her.

I mean, She’s fine with me being elsewhere in the SF or Monterey Bay Areas, and I travel  from time to time. That’s gotten harder to handle the closer to my Lady I have gotten over the years, actually. Being gone for more than two weeks is really not an option, and transport methods that pull me up away from the land when I go are much harder to acclimate to than land-based travel, so far. Homecoming is always pretty intense.

But actually moving away, living somewhere else, for months on end, or even years? Eeeeeeeeeeep! Forever?!?! Unimaginable!

Except it’s not literally unimaginable. All my life I’ve been hearing about how this place won’t be a place we can stay forever.  Earthquakes may make this area fall into the ocean (unlikely – that’s not how the San Andreas fault actually works. Making parts of the coast into islands, maybe, but sink them? Nope.) The US government may become horrible enough that we should all move to some part of the Commonwealth to get away. There may be plague or too much climate change, or a financial disaster that makes it impossible to stay. Or it will just steadily get too damned expensive – as if it isn’t already!

I listen to friends and extended family alike contemplate greener pastures. “Technically, I’m also a citizen of the UK…” “Seattle is the new Bay Area!” “I could have a huge ranch for this price if I lived in the Midwest.” “New York has way more culture than San Jose.” “I wonder if Sweden would take me in?”

All I can think is Leave here? Leave the redwoods?? Live away from the Pacific Ocean? (I’ve visited other oceans. They’re not the same.) LEAVE MY VALLEY?! If that’s what we have to do, then just kill me, please? I just… I can’t.

Will that ever happen? Will I actually want to die rather than leave? Will I waste away pining for my Heart’s Delight if I do? Who knows. I really hope I never have to find out.

–Ember–

P.S. Read Lon’s “Hope”! 😀

About EmberVoices

Ember Cooke has been a member of Hrafnar and Seidhjallr for more than a decade, where she trained to be a Seidhkona, Galdrakona, and Gythia. She founded the Vanic Conspiracy and made ordination vows to the Vanir and her congregation in the summer of 2013. She has contributed to several publications on Heathen and Northern Pagan subjects and regularly presents rituals and workshops at festivals. Her personal practice is more diverse, as the Vanir have lead her into cross-training and service for the wider Pagan community. This has including medium and servitor training in American Umbanda, clergy training with the Fellowship of the Spiral Path, and jail ministry for local counties. She holds a BA with honors in Religious Studies from Santa Clara University. Ember has lived all her life in the south San Francisco Bay Area, and is intimately bound to the valley of her birth.
This entry was posted in Land Spirit Work, Personal, Praxis, ST4R and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to MWD: Hope

  1. Pingback: MWD: The Earthquake | EmberVoices: Listening for the Vanir

  2. “Some part of the commonwealth” :p You would be welcome of course here as you would in many other places I’m sure. Though these days Canadians are nervous about our own government and feel like it’s Opposite Years with our neighbours to the south.
    Sweden’s tough to get into and has a significant Far-Right problem.

    Like

    • EmberVoices says:

      It varies quite a bit, both throughout Scandinavia and throughout the Commonwealth. I have no particular desire to live anywhere else anyway, but if I *had* to leave the country, I would no doubt take an accounting of both who all I know in the world, and what the politics where they live are like at the time I need to leave.

      But yeah, the refrain every 4 years of “If the presidential candidate I don’t like is elected, I’m moving to Canada” does get tiring…

      -E-

      Like

  3. Pingback: Melek Ta’us: Hope | Drinking From the Cup of Life

Leave a comment