Boaring

Suddenly I remember, unbidden, that I had a dream the other day of hanging out with my Mom at an Episcopal/Anglican church complex (it was a larger property with a small farm attached, but not a commune or anything). After various back-and-forth dreamstuff not relevant here, I ran across a group of parents and children being introduced to some animals. I think mostly traditional livestock. I stopped to get to know the boar, explaining to the priest I was with that it was a sacred animal in my tradition, and thus I felt an obligation to stop and pay my respects, given the chance.

The boar was young, and very happy to see me. I remember thinking “You’re so sweet and adorable, how have I not spent time with you before?”

Celtic Boar by AvocadoArt on DeviantArt

A Celtic Boar by Marcus Mende – AvocadoArt on DeviantArt

Of course! I can’t belong to the Vanir and not consider Boar amongst the animal spirits to whom I pay specific respects.

I should perhaps have realized this sooner, but frankly the dream menagerie gets a bit crowded at times, and I try not to add every animal I happen to encounter to the long-term list just because they passed through.

Taking a moment to do some cursory research, I find the map on Wikipedia of the native territory for the wild boar doesn’t even cover most of Scandinavia, although they are naturalized to my own home in California. This reinforces some of my impressions of the Vanir being perceived as Southwestern relative to Sweden and Norway.

Granted, I doubt wild boars were revered historically for being sweet and adorable, and the ones I’ve seen roaming wild in my area haven’t looked liked they’d welcome a cuddle. I’ve never thought of them as particularly hospitable. On the contrary, they’ve come across as fierce prey – food for the brave and skilled.

Domestic swine are also sacred to the Vanir, of course, and are rather easier to get close to, but even so I’ve heard that they’re dangerous, and have even been known to attack and eat farmers if something goes awry. Pigs are rather strange creatures. I should have researched them much sooner.

And one for the “Muppetru” file:

Miss Piggy as a Valkyrie

Miss Piggy as a Valkyrie – Perhaps we should call her “Syr”?

Miss Piggy as a pop-culture representation of Freyja in Her epithet of Syr?

–Ember–

About EmberVoices

Ember Cooke has been a member of Hrafnar and Seidhjallr for more than a decade, where she trained to be a Seidhkona, Galdrakona, and Gythia. She founded the Vanic Conspiracy and made ordination vows to the Vanir and her congregation in the summer of 2013. She has contributed to several publications on Heathen and Northern Pagan subjects and regularly presents rituals and workshops at festivals. Her personal practice is more diverse, as the Vanir have lead her into cross-training and service for the wider Pagan community. This has including medium and servitor training in American Umbanda, clergy training with the Fellowship of the Spiral Path, and jail ministry for local counties. She holds a BA with honors in Religious Studies from Santa Clara University. Ember has lived all her life in the south San Francisco Bay Area, and is intimately bound to the valley of her birth.
This entry was posted in Animal Spirit Work, Dreams, Lighthearted, Personal, Vanatru and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Boaring

  1. Pingback: Muppet Syr Redux | EmberVoices: Listening for the Vanir

Leave a Reply

